Buzzword

What Cliched Work Phrases Would You Retire? [Communication]

Source: http://lifehacker.com/5866409/avoid-using-these-cliched-phrases

What Cliched Work Phrases Would You Retire?If you’ve worked in an office, chances are you’re surrounded by people who use cliched phrases like “touch base” and “circle back” every time they’re in a meeting, delivering a presentation, or giving a speech. Whether or not these phrases once had meaning, they’ve long since lost their meaning for many. They’ve actually got the opposite effect now, because they’re so cliched. So which phrases should you avoid? Meeting Boy has a list.

Here are the top ten in his poll of 25 (hit his site to see more).

  • think outside the box (16%)
  • circle back (15%)
  • synergy (14%)
  • it is what it is (13%)
  • touch base (13%)
  • at the end of the day (13%)
  • let’s take this offline (12%)
  • low-hanging fruit (11%)
  • value-added (11%)
  • proactive (10%)

If you know anyone who uses these phrases feel free to show them this post. You can’t blame the words, but it’s worth keeping your language fresh and cliche-free when possible to avoid weakening the point you’re trying to make. You’ve heard my take (and Meeting Boy’s), but let’s hear your most hated work cliches.

The Most Hated Buzzword | Meeting Boy


drag2share – drag and drop RSS news items on your email contacts to share (click SEE DEMO)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, December 8th, 2011 news No Comments

a company that has a concerted effort in social marketing

http://www.webkitchen.be/2009/02/18/adobe-on-twitter/

Adobe on Twitter
By Serge Jespers 18 February 2009 at 11:02 am
I thought it was a good idea to compile a list of Adobeans on Twitter. It was quite surprising to see how big this list turned out and I’m pretty sure there must be even more of us on Twitter. If you know of someone not on the list, feel free to add them in the comments!

Flash Platform evangelism

Duane Nickull: http://twitter.com/duanechaos
Tom Krcha: http://twitter.com/tomkrcha
Mihai Corlan: http://twitter.com/mcorlan
Greg Wilson: http://twitter.com/gregorywilson
Enrique Duvos: http://twitter.com/eduvos
Daniel Dura: http://twitter.com/ddura
Kevin Hoyt: http://twitter.com/parkerkrhoyt
Andrew Shorten: http://twitter.com/ashorten
Lee Brimelow: http://twitter.com/leebrimelow
James Ward: http://twitter.com/jlward4th
Ryan Stewart: http://twitter.com/ryanstewart
Serge Jespers: http://twitter.com/sjespers
Raghu: http://twitter.com/raghunathrao
Harish: http://twitter.com/hsivaram
Anirudh: http://twitter.com/anirudhs
Sujit: http://twitter.com/sujitg
Mihai “Miti” Pricope http://twitter.com/mpricope
Cornel Creanga http://twitter.com/cornelcreanga
Terry Ryan: http://twitter.com/tpryan
Flash Platform

Michele Turner: http://twitter.com/mturner
Robin Charney: http://twitter.com/Rcharney
Mike Chambers: http://twitter.com/mesh
AIR

Ethan Malasky: http://twitter.com/emalasky
Rob Christensen: http://twitter.com/robchristensen
Christian Cantrell: http://twitter.com/cantrell
Flex

Matt Chotin: http://twitter.com/mchotin
Cocomo

Nigel Pegg: http://twitter.com/nigelpegg
Fang Chang: http://twitter.com/fkchang
Varun Parmar: http://twitter.com/vparmar230
Pixelbender

Kevin Goldsmith: http://twitter.com/KevinGoldsmith
Samantha Bailey: http://twitter.com/upperleftcorner
Adobe Core Tech

Jim Hong: http://twitter.com/jimhong
John Metzger: http://twitter.com/metz123
Kevin Stewart: http://twitter.com/kstewart
Mike Houser: http://twitter.com/tharkad
ColdFusion

Adam Lehman: http://twitter.com/adrocknaphobia
Products

AIR: http://twitter.com/air
Pixelbender: http://twitter.com/pixelbender
Flash Platform: http://twitter.com/Flash_Platform
ColdFusion: http://twitter.com/coldfusion
Buzzword: http://twitter.com/Buzzword
Adobe Reader: http://twitter.com/Adobe_Reader
Dreamweaver: http://twitter.com/dreamweaver
Spry: http://twitter.com/AdobeSpry
Developer relations

Ed Sullivan: http://twitter.com/esulliva
Rachel Luxemburg: http://twitter.com/rlux
Ted Patrick: http://www.twitter.com/AdobeTed
John Dowdell: http://www.twitter.com/jdowdell
Stacy Sison: http://www.twitter.com/ssison
Creative Suite evangelists

Paul Burnett: http://twitter.com/pburnett
Karl Soule: http://twitter.com/KarlSoule
Greg Rewis: http://twitter.com/garazi
Jason Levine: http://twitter.com/Beatlejase
Rufus Deuchler: http://twitter.com/rufusd
Flash Catalyst

NJ: http://twitter.com/rictus
Rob Adams: http://twitter.com/robadams
Cory West: http://twitter.com/corywest
Adobe After Effects

Dan Wilk: http://twitter.com/DanielWilk
Michael Natkin: http://twitter.com/michaelnatkin
Chris Prosser: http://twitter.com/cprosser
Open source

Dave McAllister: http://twitter.com/dwmcallister
Creative Suite

Doug Winnie: http://twitter.com/sfdesigner
Scott Fegette: http://twitter.com/sfegette
Marc Kubishta: http://twitter.com/kubischta
Connect

Mark Blair: http://www.twitter.com/markblair
Randah McKinnie: http://www.twitter.com/randah
Guillaume Privat: http://www.twitter.com/gprivat
Brant Strand: http://www.twitter.com/BStrand
Adobe Nordics

Anna Bouveng: http://twitter.com/annabou
Mattias Jonsson: http://twitter.com/mjonsson
Andreas Hollstrom: http://twitter.com/hollstrom
Adobe UK

Emma Wilkinson: http://twitter.com/emmawilkinson
Adobe Netherlands/Belgium

Klaasjan Tukker: http://twitter.com/ktukker
Bert Hagendoorn: http://twitter.com/berthagendoorn
Adobe Usergroup NL: http://twitter.com/adobeusergroup
Adobe Romania

Bogdan Ripa http://twitter.com/bogdanripa
Alexandru Costin http://twitter.com/acostin
Irina Huzum http://twitter.com/irinah
Adrian Spinei http://twitter.com/aspinei
Cosmin Lehene http://twitter.com/clehene
Andrei Dragomir http://twitter.com/adragomir
Sorin Sbarnea http://twitter.com/sbarnea
Mihaela Barbu http://twitter.com/mihabarbu
Adrian Tanase http://twitter.com/atanase
Horia Galatanu http://twitter.com/horiag
Ovidiu Eftimie http://twitter.com/eovidiu
Gelu Blanariu http://twitter.com/gelu11
Gabriel Dobritescu http://twitter.com/GabiD
Catalin Anastasoaie http://twitter.com/acatalin
Dragos Georgita http://twitter.com/drageo2000
Remus Stratulat http://twitter.com/rstratulat
Cristian Ivascu http://twitter.com/ivascucristian
Adobe Germany

Sven Doelle: http://twitter.com/sdoelle

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 digital, marketing No Comments

Dr. Augustine Fou is Digital Consigliere to marketing executives, advising them on digital strategy and Unified Marketing(tm). Dr Fou has over 17 years of in-the-trenches, hands-on experience, which enables him to provide objective, in-depth assessments of their current marketing programs and recommendations for improving business impact and ROI using digital insights.

Augustine Fou portrait
http://twitter.com/acfou
Send Tips: tips@go-digital.net
Digital Strategy Consulting
Dr. Augustine Fou LinkedIn Bio
Digital Marketing Slideshares
The Grand Unified Theory of Marketing